Twenty fifth

Things don’t always turn out the way you planned. Sometimes, they turn out even better.

When I was younger, I always imagined myself having stability by the age of 25. I guess it has to do with the environment I grew up in, wherein 25 is a point where you should already have a sense of direction in life.

Time flew and today I turn 25, and here I am on my bed, alone in a rental and trying to catch up on my blog work. And, from time to time, staring at a blank wall having writer’s block and thinking of ways to juggle the heaps of work I have for school, the blogging, and the figuring out of how to earn more money to keep me going. I’m a Food Technologist degree holder, who is studying again as a fashion styling apprentice and trying her luck in penetrating the fashion industry. By the way, if you are wondering if I ever have days wherein I regret quitting my already stable QA Microbiologist job, then let me answer it with no. I love where I am now and who I am turning out to be.

In my 25 years of existence, I have learned a few more things…

First, do what you want for yourself, not for anyone else. It comes hand in hand with not letting anyone hinder you from doing what you love and what you think would make you happy.

Second, be someone who can commit. Commitment isn’t only applicable to relationships. Commitment can be anything from making it a habit of eating breakfast every day to being persistent in pursuing your passions.

Third is one of my favorite mottos. NEVER DO MEDIOCRE. It’s cliché to say you should always do your best, but I’d say it anyways. Never settle for “that’s good enough”. Always go all out. It gets easier when it already becomes a habit. Sure it would stress me out often when the perfectionist and workaholic in me kick in, but boy oh boy that feeling when you see your finished work and you receive praises because of it is PRICELESS.

Fourth, never underestimate yourself. Also, never compare yourself to other people. A lot of us are guilty of this. We limit ourselves saying “I can’t do that” or “they’re better than me”. It took some time, but I did end up learning that the only limits I have are the limits I give to myself. Furthermore, we are all different, and that’s what makes us human beings great. Comparing yourself to someone else is pointless. The only competition you should think about is the competition you have with yourself. Always strive to be better than who you were yesterday. We are all capable of great things.

Fifth, the struggles in life are part of the journey and will always be what makes the destination more valuable. Sometimes, we have to be torn apart in order for us to grow and end up rebuilding ourselves into better persons.

SONY DSC

On an unrelated note (well maybe related to birthday gift giving because it was sent to me), I love this Black Bowknot Self Tie V-neck Short Sleeve Blouse from Zaful. Wooh. That’s a loooong name. lol. If you want to get one too, link is HERE. Also visit their site HERE for more items you can shop!

SONY DSCSONY DSC

Author:

A young woman's journey as a flower bud blooming amidst adversity.

2 thoughts on “Twenty fifth

  1. Happy 25th, Janine! I love reading your thoughts as they empower me especially now when I feel a bit low on the confidence end. It’s funny how insecurity can hit when you least expect it but reading your blog post has made me feel a tad better! I like your positive mindset and of course, your outfit and smile 😀 x

    Shanaz | Fashionista NOW

    Like

Leave a Reply

